New Hampshire Inspection Requirements: What You Need to Know!

 

Whether you're new to New Hampshire or a longtime resident, if you're registering your vehicle in the state you need to get familiar with the New Hampshire inspection requirements.

While it can be a little frustrating at first when you're trying to figure everything out, the truth is that it's a pretty straightforward system that's easy to navigate.

We want to help you keep your registration intact and you on the right side of the law, that's why we came up with this guide to walk you through everything you need to know to pass your next vehicle inspection in New Hampshire!

When Do You Have To Inspect Your Vehicles in New Hampshire?

If you're registering your vehicle in New Hampshire for the first time you have ten days after registering it to take it in for an inspection. You also need to take a vehicle in for an inspection within ten days if you transfer it into someone else's name.

From there, you need to take the vehicle in for inspection every year, NLT ten days after the owner's birthday month. The only exception to this is antique vehicles, as you have to inspect those during April.

This makes vehicle inspections an annual requirement for every vehicle registered in New Hampshire.

Does New Hampshire Have an Emissions Test?

Yes, not only does New Hampshire test for regular mechanical conditions, but they also test for emissions each year.

If the vehicle does not meet New Hampshire smog requirements, it won't pass the inspection, and you won't be allowed to drive it on the road.

Other Things New Hampshire Test for During a Vehicle Inspection

Not only does a vehicle inspection in New Hampshire test for emissions, but they also check and test for the proper operation of the following components:

  • Registration
  • Steering system
  • Brakes
  • Speedometer and odometer
  • Fuel system
  • Tires
  • Exhaust system
  • Wiper blades
  • Lights
  • Glass and mirrors
  • Horn
  • Electrical system
  • Defrosters

Keep in mind that this is not a comprehensive list, and there are plenty of other components that the inspector needs to check when you take your vehicle in. Just about every mechanical component of your vehicle needs to be in good working order to pass a New Hampshire state inspection.

Can You Pass a Vehicle Inspection in New Hampshire With a Check Engine Light?

No. A check engine light indicates that there's a problem within your vehicle, and as such, it constitutes an automatic failure in New Hampshire.

This is true even if the vehicle has a check engine light for a minor condition like a faulty gas cap sensor. So, if your vehicle has a check engine light on, go ahead and take it in for repairs or you won't be able to pass the inspection.

How Much Does a Vehicle Inspection Cost?

It all depends on where you take it, but inspections in New Hampshire typically cost between $25 and $50. However, New Hampshire does not set a limit on how much shops can charge for an inspection, so prices can get higher than that depending on where you live and where you take your vehicle.

What Happens If You Fail Your Inspection?

If your vehicle fails the state inspection that doesn't mean that you need to pull it off the road right away and you can't drive it. New Hampshire offers a one-time 60-day sticker if your vehicle only fails for OBD reasons.

However, if your vehicle fails for safety reasons then there is no grace period. Either way, you'll need to address the reason your vehicle failed and fix it as soon as possible.

Because even if they give you a 60-day sticker because your vehicle failed the OBD test, if you don't have it fixed by the end of the 60 days, you won't get the sticker.

The strict rules behind the inspection process are why we recommend going in for your vehicle inspection at the beginning of your birth month. This gives you the time to get any repairs you need done before the inspection expires and you can't legally drive your vehicle.

It's also why we recommend taking your vehicle to a reputable shop, like Granite Subaru, throughout the year to help ensure a smooth inspection without surprises when the time comes. It also helps prevent small problems from turning into big ones, saving you quite a bit of money.

Why You Should Take Your Vehicle to Granite Subaru for Inspections

If you have to pick any place to take your vehicle for the initial or annual inspection, why not go somewhere that fully understands how your Subaru is supposed to work and can fix any problems it might have?

The technicians at Granite Subaru are professionals who know exactly what your Subaru needs, and if it's not in the right condition, they have the skills and expertise to diagnose it and fix it on the spot.

They also offer competitive pricing and tons of perks if your vehicle does end up needing work. Even better, you'll get OEM parts so you know it'll run just like it's supposed to after they fix everything.

After an inspection you want to know your vehicle is in good working order, which is why you don't want to go with a cut-rate mechanic or shop for your New Hampshire state inspection.

Final Thoughts

While vehicle inspections might be a frustrating requirement, it's in place for a good reason. It ensures that all the vehicles on the road are in good working condition, keeping everyone safe. The best way to ensure your inspection goes as smoothly as possible is to keep your vehicle in good working order all the time, and the technicians at Granite Subaru can certainly help with that!

Do you have any questions about the New Hampshire vehicle inspection requirements, or do you need to schedule your New Hampshire vehicle inspection? The friendly experts at Granite Subaru would love to help you. Go ahead and reach out with your questions or to schedule your appointment today!